Automotive

Intermediate exhaust pipe rusted through- what should I expect at the muffler shop?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 24th, 2021 11:00 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Mar 16, 2018
1163 posts
1701 upvotes
Hamilton

Intermediate exhaust pipe rusted through- what should I expect at the muffler shop?

Excuse my ignorance, I don’t have much background in automotive repair! My exhaust pipe exiting my 2007 Honda Fit’s catalytic converter rusted through - I’m planning on swinging by a muffler shop this week to have them have a look, but given this was basically my beater car for university (I graduated 4 years ago!), it would be nice to have an understanding of what this would likely cost to replace given the age of the vehicle.

I’ll be needing new(er?) winter tires this winter, the car’s driver side lock has failed (with the passenger probably on the way out), and there is obviously some growing frame rust, so I’m sure you can all appreciate the economic triage I’m doing! I’m actually a little embarrassed with the state of the vehicle, but with on street downtown parking, beyond changing a battery or an air filter, there wasn’t much I could do for the poor thing.

I’ve included a bonus picture of my temporary redneck engineering fibreglass fix for your laughs!
031D91F2-8358-44B5-89F9-DA3EA9FD961F.jpeg
9B0B557E-8637-4114-9B85-86749D13BE29.jpeg
9 replies
Deal Addict
Jun 13, 2009
1070 posts
825 upvotes
Toronto
Your fix is RFD approved...Only if you bought that roll on sale.