• Last Updated:
  • Mar 16th, 2020 4:54 pm
Deal Addict
Mar 30, 2010
4021 posts
3239 upvotes
Greater Toronto Area

Interview process for a software developer within the government

I'm a software developer that loathes coding tests as part of the interview process because 1) I don't code on paper in the real world and 2) I can't work with people looking over my shoulder.

I'm applying for a software developer job within the government and am wondering what their interview process is like. Most importantly, do they require candidates to do coding tests as part of their interview process?
RichmondCA wrote: Leading indicator on bear market, when you see this avatar start popping up in this thread
9 replies
Mar 2, 2020
103 posts
57 upvotes
Toronto
Interview process in govt is very different than corporate world. In govt they have preset written questions. When you answer panel is busy in writing your answers rather than having a eye contact and have meaningful discussion. As a coder you can expect to write a query or solve a quick small problem.
Deal Addict
Dec 24, 2007
1811 posts
2410 upvotes
BC
The interview in government is generally some sort of test, not your typical "tell me about yourself" stuff...that stuff should have been already disclosed with your submission on why you qualified for the position.
Deal Addict
Mar 30, 2010
4021 posts
3239 upvotes
Greater Toronto Area
Thanks.

I haven't submitted my application yet; I've only found an open position that I like and I'm currently just working on updating my resume.

Sounds like the test (if I get that far) will be relevant to what the job actually entails, which is more than I can say for the shitty Google-wanna-be private companies that make candidates write syntactically correct sorting algorithms on a whiteboard.

How long do they usually take to extend an offer from the time the application is submitted? Glassdoor says anywhere between 2 months to a year, which is a pretty big range.