Personal Finance

Invest only in 5* Morningstar ranked mutual funds???

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 22nd, 2009 7:55 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Apr 17, 2009
471 posts
81 upvotes

Invest only in 5* Morningstar ranked mutual funds???

I'm a newbie in invest in mutual funds and I have only 5k to invest in mutual funds. To begin, I project to put 1k in five 5 stars rated funds. I can change the funds at no fees so when they will change to 4 or 3* I will swap them in an other 5* funds.

What do you think???
10 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 21, 2009
1330 posts
72 upvotes
Transient
Are you with BMO?

I initially looked at those ratings as well and I definitely wouldn't make trades solely based on them

I recommend you look into ETF's. Or if you are stuck on mutual funds TD E-series funds will save you a lot in fees
[OP]
Apr 17, 2009
471 posts
81 upvotes
high_octane wrote: Are you with BMO?

I initially looked at those ratings as well and I definitely wouldn't make trades solely based on them

I recommend you look into ETF's. Or if you are stuck on mutual funds TD E-series funds will save you a lot in fees

I'm with TD e-series.

And sorry but what ETF means? It's a type of funds?
Deal Fanatic
Feb 17, 2007
5837 posts
2014 upvotes
Mort Réal
ETF is an Electronic Traded Fund. It's like a mutual fund but it's traded just like stocks (it has a symbol) and the MERs are much lower than a traditional mutual fund. But you pay comission fees on those purchases just like you would for stock purchases. If you intend to make one big fund purchase, it might be a good alternative. If you intend to make regular contribution (weekly or monthly, etc) then a conventional mutual fund will probably work better for you.

As for the original question, there are a lot more factors to consider, includung the MERs.

a 5-star fund won't necessarely perform better than a 3-star. If the MERS is too high, it reduces your effective yield.