Careers

Jobs for graduate accounting student without experience?

• Last Updated:
  • May 30th, 2018 2:47 am
Aug 29, 2008
709 posts
78 upvotes
Toronto

Jobs for graduate accounting student without experience?

So I just graduated a few weeks ago from bachelor of commerce honors specializing in accounting at the University of Ottawa. As I did not do any co-op or related to my field I have no experience whatsoever. I'm looking for advise based on my specific situation.

Background info about myself: While in last year of school I added several thousands in debt on my credit card as I did not want to work and study in order to make sure I graduate quick without delays. Also I have my student loan to start paying in a few months. Before I used to own my carpet cleaning and painting business which I lost most of my clients because of going back to school full time and it may be too much money and risk to get it back running so that's not an option now that I need money ASAP. I also worked as a car salesman last year for a few months and while I liked it, it's not something I would do for a living for more than a year and the money isnt great either. I don't mind working 60 hours a week or more if a job requires.

I'm considering 2 types of jobs:
1. Job in sales or management that will pay well so I can pay my bills (I could also consider management as a career path)
2. A job as a bookkeeper accounts receivable/payable or something else that does not necessarily require experience but also doesn't give me meaningful experience or a nice paycheque.

It really gives me peace of mind to be debt free so I'm more inclined in working for the money before working for the career. I wish I could have both. What would you do?
and what kind of jobs would you recommend in either/both situation?

Edit: Also wanted to add, I live in Ottawa, may be open to relocate to Toronto. I assume there is more jobs but also more demand, would that increase my chances?