Careers

Laid off after 13 years Employment- Severance info?

• Last Updated:
  • May 11th, 2019 2:40 pm
[OP]
Oct 18, 2009
160 posts
79 upvotes
Toronto, ON

Laid off after 13 years Employment- Severance info?

Hi everyone.
I work for a Canadian company which employees about 4000 workers in GTA area. I worked as a Senior technical person capacity (full time Salary employment) for the past 13 years.

Due to some restructuring, the situation at this company I was laid off yesterday with 5 months severance package. My health benefits will continue till Oct 2018.
I'd like to understand based on these facts, how much I would be entitled to. I do a specialized kind of work and currently the opportunities in my filed are almost none in Canada. Everything outsourced to Asia.
I am 47 years of age and my Salary is >$90K annually basis.

Any information you can provide or share will be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Last edited by cooltoronto on Feb 28th, 2018 1:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
68 replies
Deal Guru
Feb 9, 2006
12281 posts
6843 upvotes
Brampton
You should really consult a employment lawyer. They have a 30min free consultation.

The idea of severance is viewed in many cases as "gap pay" till you get you find another job vs the idea of a pay out based on years of service. So your employer is thinking you'll find another job in less than 5 months.
But the rule of thumb of a month per year of service generally applies.

Here's some articles for you.

https://www.theglobeandmail.com/report- ... e29785537/

https://www.theglobeandmail.com/report- ... le4098859/
Deal Guru
Mar 9, 2007
13964 posts
9045 upvotes
Think of the Childre…
14 years and only 5 months severance? Hmmm not good.

WOULD SOMEBODY THINK OF THE CHILDREN!!!
Banned
May 17, 2005
4845 posts
661 upvotes
tebore wrote: You should really consult a employment lawyer.
agree , also is it a lump sum ? do you have to give it back if you find a job sooner then the 5 months ?
Deal Fanatic
Mar 15, 2005
5489 posts