Real Estate

Landlord and "tenant" issues. Need advice..

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 30th, 2019 9:29 am
Tags:
[OP]
Sep 26, 2019
2 posts
GTA

Landlord and "tenant" issues. Need advice..

Hi. This is my first time posting here and I don't really know if this is the best sub-forum for my thread so please forgive me. This is in the Greater Toronto Area and I'd like any advice on what to do how to move forward.

My parents have a living space in our basement renovated to a basement apartment (1 bedroom, living room, kitchen, bathroom and access to our laundry room that's also down there containing OUR freezer storage too).

We've legally had legal documents with previous tenants in the past 10+ years we've lived here, between the landlord (us) and tenants. This is the first time someone makes a mountain out of a nothing burger.

This current "tenant" (we have no legal documents or lease agreement with this person) is basically a long term guest that pays $850 CAD, all utilities included (water, electricity, Internet). We'll call this tenant "roastie".

She has only been here for no more than 4 months, around the beginning of Summer. While our family was searching for a legal tenant to rent to, my brother had a suggestion and was doing a previous friend a favor, and had him move him. He is/was this current "tenant"'s boyfriend. However, they are no longer friends especially after what happened and which I'll get into.

With the "rental" fee she pays us monthly, she has been extremely entitled and disrespectful feeling as if we had invaded her private space (we have to go through her kitchen to get to our laundry room).

Our family's laundry day is usually Saturday. She doesn't like it when we have to go downstairs through her kitchen to get to our laundry room, especially when we want to retrieve frozen food (meat) from our freezer. The thing is, this laundry room is also where the heater is too.