Entrepreneurship & Small Business

Launching an app - should I incorporate?

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 12th, 2021 10:11 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Aug 23, 2021
2 posts
2 upvotes

Launching an app - should I incorporate?

Hello All

I'm currently a solo developer residing in Ontario, Canada and will be launching an ios app in the near future. I wanted to get some advice on whether it is worthwhile to setup a corporation vs launching as an individual. I don't expect the app to make much money (at least initially) but thought it could be worthwhile to form a corp just in case I get sued, want raise funds and to protect my privacy.

Hopefully there are some app devs on here who have experience launching individual apps interested in what your approach is
9 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 13, 2007
2026 posts
539 upvotes
Toronto
Don't worry too much about being sued. I mean, TOO MUCH. Chances of you getting sued are proportional to your net worth. So if you are not already rich, nobody will be bothering you unless you really screw someone over. Because you can't squeeze water out of a stone :)
Apr 2, 2020
205 posts
89 upvotes
If someone wants to sue you, a corporation will not protect you from being sued personally.

Also....I hope you're not doing something that might get you sued. Smiling Face With Sunglasses
Banned
Jun 21, 2021
59 posts
36 upvotes
why not incorporate?

what are cons of incorporation for doing this?
[OP]
Aug 23, 2021
2 posts
2 upvotes
peterschiff wrote: why not incorporate?

what are cons of incorporation for doing this?
Just time & costs - from my understanding you have to pay fees each year & pay for proper accounting etc

I can launch right away as an individual vs several months as a corp since you need to get a DUNs #
Apr 6, 2019
219 posts
76 upvotes
GTA
propr1 wrote: Just time & costs - from my understanding you have to pay fees each year & pay for proper accounting etc

I can launch right away as an individual vs several months as a corp since you need to get a DUNs #