• Aug 29th, 2019 10:23 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 12, 2007
4685 posts
811 upvotes
Waterloo

LED Bulbs rated for -40 ( outdoor use )

Has anyone comes across bulbs rated for -40 or -45. I'm sick of changing my outside bulbs.

Best Ive seen is -20 for some GE bulbs.
----
Pay it forward.
31 replies
Deal Fanatic
Aug 29, 2011
6630 posts
3601 upvotes
Mississauga
How cold do you expect it to get in Waterloo?

I’ve been running Crappy Tire Noma branded ones for a couple of years in my outdoor fixtures without any issues. I always thought heat was the enemy for LED’s?
[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 12, 2007
4685 posts
811 upvotes
Waterloo
mrweather wrote: How cold do you expect it to get in Waterloo?

I’ve been running Crappy Tire Noma branded ones for a couple of years in my outdoor fixtures without any issues. I always thought heat was the enemy for LED’s?
for all electronic products ( altho its not widely cited ) a very low temperate can kill also since it wrecks havoc with the voltage control components. -25 is something we see every winter.
----
Pay it forward.
Deal Expert
Feb 11, 2007
16854 posts
18591 upvotes
Oakville
mrweather wrote: How cold do you expect it to get in Waterloo?

Same here. I have several Noma LED's that have been outdoors for a few years.
If the women don't find you handsome, they should at least find you handy.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 12, 2007
4685 posts
811 upvotes
Waterloo
engineered wrote: Same here. I have several Noma LED's that have been outdoors for a few years.
GTA isnt the same as not GTA :P

GTA hardly get any winter nowadays.

Ive tried CREE, Noma , Homedepot special EcoSmart ( had three Eco-smart fail on me in the past few months so I dont think its winter related but it might be progressive damage ). Maybe these brands have a special line . Even the GE I mentioned only has -20 minimum start temperature specified on some lines only.
----
Pay it forward.
Deal Expert
Feb 11, 2007
16854 posts
18591 upvotes
Oakville