• Last Updated:
  • Jul 15th, 2020 9:31 pm
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Jun 7, 2005
9690 posts
1145 upvotes

LF the largest MDF board for DIY Ping Pong Table Top

I wonder if there is any MDF board in the market that are larger than 4' x 8'. I am using it for the DIY Ping Pong table top. The official size for ping pong table is 5' x 9'. So, I will need two pieces of board with 5' x 4.5' (Note: Min thickness should be 5/8" or 15mm). I have checked both Lowes and Home Depot, they carry 4' x 8' only.

Thanks for any recommendations.
12 replies
Deal Addict
Jun 26, 2019
2003 posts
1734 upvotes
GTA
I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure most ping pong tables are not made out of MDF, feel free to state otherwise.

Anyways, I would probably just go with ply, you could get 2 pieces of 5x5 ply and call it a day.
Deal Guru
Jan 25, 2007
11977 posts
7132 upvotes
Paris
My ping pong table is just chipboard with a smooth top surface. 5x5 ply is the answer. I don’t think MDF is stable across a size that big without a lot of support, plus its heavy.
Deal Addict
Dec 17, 2007
2623 posts
1609 upvotes
Alliston, ON
You can get 5'x10' x 3/4" mdf. It will be pretty heavy, and you'd probably be best doing the table in 2 sections like most tables are.
Check lumber yards not box stores
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Jun 7, 2005
9690 posts
1145 upvotes
Thanks. I definitely will go with two pieces option for easy transportation and moving. I just didn't know they have 5 x 5 ply wood. By the way, for those who are using the plywood, how does the ping pong ball bounce on it ? I have been using the 5/8" MDF board, and it bounces like it is on a regular ping pong table.

Does anyone know how much roughly per 5x5 plywood is ? I still need to figure out how to transport the 5 x 5 board. I had to cut the 4 x 8 by half and shortened one inch on one side (48" x 47") in order to fit into my car...... I might need to rent the Home Depot van.......
Deal Guru
Mar 23, 2008
13006 posts
9961 upvotes
Edmonton