Automotive

Licence is valid, but current licence card lost?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 18th, 2017 1:05 pm
Aug 12, 2017
39 posts
4 upvotes

Licence is valid, but current licence card lost?

I have a full G licence that's not expired, but I have lost possession of the card. However I have a slightly older licence card that is expired.

What would happen if I was stopped and I had both the expired licence card and passport. Would they be able to look me up to see that I'm a licensed driver if I told the officer? What would reasonably happen in this circumstance?

This is Ontario if it makes a difference
10 replies
Deal Addict
May 10, 2011
1482 posts
540 upvotes
Ottawa
Doesn't matter. You need to have a valid driver licence on you when you operate a vehicle.

Why not simply go to Service Ontario to get a replacement?
Deal Addict
Aug 24, 2007
2732 posts
3020 upvotes
Ottawa
Pay the $20 or whatever it is for a replacement. Go to a Service Ontario office and they will print you a temp licence on the spot.
Deal Addict
Sep 13, 2016
3606 posts
2409 upvotes
Mississauga
Seriously. It just takes a week or two for replacement to arrive and Service Ontario will even print a paper one which can be used in the meantime.
Deal Fanatic
Jun 11, 2005
8633 posts
2399 upvotes
Mississauga
a1wmail wrote: I have a full G licence that's not expired, but I have lost possession of the card. However I have a slightly older licence card that is expired.

What would happen if I was stopped and I had both the expired licence card and passport. Would they be able to look me up to see that I'm a licensed driver if I told the officer? What would reasonably happen in this circumstance?

This is Ontario if it makes a difference
Pay for a replacement asap if not if you get pulled over ticket is in your future.
Deal Fanatic
Jun 26, 2007
5977 posts
1468 upvotes
???
You'll get a ticket for not having a license on you while driving.

You have to carry the most current license card.
Deal Fanatic
Mar 17, 2006