• Last Updated:
  • Dec 8th, 2019 11:04 am
[OP]
Dec 5, 2019
3 posts
1 upvote

License Exchange

Hey everyone, I am an international student studying in NS with a full class 5 driving license since September 2019. Prior to this I already have a driving license for 8 years in my home country. I will be working in Ontario next summer, therefore I have a few questions regarding the driver licensing in Ontario.

1. It states on the website that if I have less than 2 years of driving experience, I could not exchange for a full G class license. Can 6 years my driving experience in my home country take this into account?
2. If its not taken into account and I'm not allowed to change to full G license, can/should I just wait and/or drive for 2 years with my NS license in Ontario? Because otherwise I will have to wait for like 21 months to take the G2 driving test? :rolleyes:

Thanks
5 replies
Deal Addict
Oct 26, 2007
1574 posts
138 upvotes
Toronto
  1. You can get a class G2 licence when you exchange your NS driver's licence for an Ontario driver's licence. To get any credit for your driving experience from you home country, you must present your foreign driver's licence and must be valid when you exchange your NS driver's licence. You must get a document from the licence issuing agency in your home country attesting to the validity and authenticity of your foreign driver's licence.
  2. You can do that, you wouldn't be the first to do so. :)
[OP]
Dec 5, 2019
3 posts
1 upvote
Broli's Mom wrote:
  1. You can get a class G2 licence when you exchange your NS driver's licence for an Ontario driver's licence. To get any credit for your driving experience from you home country, you must present your foreign driver's licence and must be valid when you exchange your NS driver's licence. You must get a document from the licence issuing agency in your home country attesting to the validity and authenticity of your foreign driver's licence.