Life of a Public Accountant

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 12th, 2021 10:37 pm
[OP]
Jun 1, 2021
1 posts
2 upvotes

Life of a Public Accountant

I'm writing this post to look for advice. Up until this time, I thought that because I was an accountant, I'm supposed to be working long hours and draining myself because that's what all accountants do. This past tax season has taken a serious toll on my mental health. Let me tell you what I currently do.
I'm a Staff Accountant at a public tax firm in the greater toronto area. Now this company only has about 10 employees, however we are servicing over 2500 clients per year. We prepare T1, T2, and T3 returns, as well as provide bookkeeping services for multiple businesses, some of which take about 100 hours to complete. Our busy season starts in January and runs until the end of June. My hours of work per week during this time is 60 at minimum, but I've hit as high as 84. And that's in one week. Is this normal?? Our off season isn't so bad because we work only 35 hours a week.
Now this wouldn't be so bad if all of the work was distributed evenly between our employees, but it's not. Majority of the workload tends to fall on me because no one else can do it, literally. I'm the only CPA in training, everyone else in the company isn't qualified and doesn't plan to become qualified either.
You would think that my coworkers would acknowledge my workload and be somewhat considerate about it, however it's totally the opposite. I get pressured daily to finish tasks ahead of time. We set deadlines for every clients to ensure we get the work done on time. But comments are still made when the work isn't done one week ahead of the deadline.
My manager has been telling me that I'm receiving very good pay for what I do, but I'm sure they're just saying that to keep me here. $37/hour seems pretty average to me. What do you guys think?