[OP]
Banned
Aug 21, 2006
629 posts
94 upvotes
GTA

Lighting Advice

Hello all

I have decided that I'm sick and tired of all the dullness with low light bulbs. I need lots of light in my room (i'm a student) so i decided to go with a 200 watt bulb which gave me ~3900 lumens of light. It was super bright and I loved it. But, after about half an hour, sparks came out of the floor lamp and I smelled some bad smoke. I think there was a small spark and something burned. Nothing dangerous. (I hope). The floor lamp fried and doesn't work anymore.

I hardly get any sunlight and it kills my motivation to get any work done. How should I solve this problem. I need a new floor lamp and a bright bulb. Any recommendations for good lighting conditions? Should I buy a new 200 watt Canadian tire bulb again or look for something else?

Please share your thoughts. :)

Note: Cost is a factor.

Thanku y'all
5 replies
Deal Addict
Oct 12, 2007
4797 posts
2185 upvotes
Ottawa
Are you limited to a floor lamp? If 200w fits the bill, why not a cheap, 2-bulb fixture with two 23w CFL bulbs? Should do the trick.
Deal Fanatic
Feb 25, 2004
5655 posts
149 upvotes
New Westminster
CaptSmethwick wrote: Are you limited to a floor lamp? If 200w fits the bill, why not a cheap, 2-bulb fixture with two 23w CFL bulbs? Should do the trick.
Each of these CFLs are 23 watts and generate 1600 lumens max
http://www.1000bulbs.com/23-Watt-Compac ... 00-Kelvin/

These CFSs are 23 watts and generate 1100 lumens
http://www.1000bulbs.com/23-Watt-Compac ... 00-Kelvin/

He is probably have to go to around 30Watts
http://www.1000bulbs.com/30-Watt-Compact-Fluorescents/
Deal Fanatic
Oct 22, 2007
6110 posts
1093 upvotes
Mississauga
Ever consider placing a CFL with a colour temperture of 6500K at maybe 25 watts or more? The call the bulb daylight but some daylights only have a colour temperature of 5000k. Read the label.
[OP]
Banned
Aug 21, 2006
629 posts
94 upvotes
GTA