None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jun 11, 2010
1366 posts
799 upvotes
ottawa

Load Bearing?

Can anyone give me a hand on whether any of these beams are load bearing?

1+2 go together
3+4 go together
5 is on it's own

I'd like to remove the stairs to get access to the foundation to parge and waterproof, but it's nailed into beams in pics 1-4. Similarly, I'd like to remove the wood where the concrete doorway is but I'm not sure if it's load bearing as well.

Any recommendations on who would be best to talk to about this?
Images
  • 1.JPG
  • 2.JPG
  • 3.JPG
  • 4.JPG
  • 5.JPG
7 replies
Deal Addict
Jul 2, 2001
4556 posts
1926 upvotes
GTA
1+2 lol no, someone probably put that up because the upper floor was sinking a bit*
3+4 holds up the stairs landing*
5 i wouldn't touch that unless you plan on replacing it with a steel structure*

* i'm no structural engineer, also assume you're talking about the posts and not beams, the beams obviously are
Last edited by shabby on Feb 11th, 2018 2:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Deal Fanatic
Oct 12, 2007
5550 posts
3127 upvotes
Ottawa
1 - don't remove anything if you have any doubts. If you don't know what you're doing, hire an engineer.
2 - a beam is a horizontal structural member whereas a post is vertical. Your question asks about beams not posts.
3 - those joists (the horizontal lumber holding up the floor) do carry a load to a beam (the large 2x12 that runs parallel to the stairs) which in turn carries a significant floor load to the double beam that is supported by the foundation. Curiously, where that double beam ties into the foundation is in the middle of a window opening in a foundation and that is a weak spot. There must be another post nearby that isn't in the pictures. Anyway, that just seems to be an odd place to put a window unless the people who poured the foundation didn't know about the stairway opening.