• Feb 2nd, 2021 9:57 am
[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 20, 2007
1564 posts
44 upvotes
usa

Logitech M510 double clicking

I have been using the Logitech M510 mouse for several years. Since I bought a new one (same model) for home, I took the old one to work.

Recently, single click became double clicks randomly. I first thought something was wrong with my Outlook since I'm have other issues with it. I don't notice this issue with other applications other than Outlook. I read that Logitech is know for this problem. Does anyone have any fix for this? My work laptop is running Windows 10.
14 replies
Deal Expert
Jan 27, 2006
20725 posts
14181 upvotes
Vancouver, BC
Definitely a known problem.

Basically the microswitch's contacts are worn and the switch should be replaced. You will need to take the mouse apart and check the model of the microswitch and then order a replacement. The switches themselves are cheap and if you are good with a soldering iron it's a quick fix.
You can also take the switch apart clean the contacts and it should be back in service as well.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 20, 2007
1564 posts
44 upvotes
usa
How do I clean or replace the microswitch?

I bought the MX Anywhere 2S, but I absolutely hate the scroll wheel on the new Logitech mouse. I like how there's a click each time you scroll. The new ones just spin nonstop.
Deal Addict
Jul 26, 2004
4989 posts
2019 upvotes
It's the spring in the switch that's losing its shape. You can try taking the switch apart and bending the copper piece back into shape. There are tutorials out there. I've done this with a few Logitech mice before
May 11, 2018
85 posts
145 upvotes

you can take it apart and do a DIY fix, but it may break again. mice do not last forever, a few years is pretty good if you are a heavy user.
Ju Leon...
Oct 26, 2006
585 posts
63 upvotes
East GTA - Durham Re…