• Last Updated:
  • Aug 23rd, 2019 11:44 am
[OP]
Aug 18, 2019
7 posts
2 upvotes

Looking for advice buying from AliExpress

Hello,

I am a long time lurker here and I finally decided to create an account! I am looking at buying a phone from AliExpress and I am looking for suggestions not to get scammed. The seller I am looking at is ETEAM Store. The product I am looking to buy is the ROG Phone 2 Tencent Edition.
Here is the link https://www.aliexpress.com/item/4000103 ... 3c008ELFf2

Does anyone have any experience with the seller? Is there any way to protect myself if I buy the product? Any general suggestions before making a purchase on AliExpress?

This is my first time buying from the site and I was hoping the RFD community would have some advice.
17 replies
Deal Guru
Jun 27, 2004
13270 posts
2494 upvotes
Vancouver.bc.ca
I've only ordered <$50 items, although usually <$20, so can't say about getting scammed. I either get it or not. Only once did I not get money back (~$2) because I was a nice guy and let Buyer Protection lapse, due to it being Chinese New Year. (The sellers there are like any other Chinese seller; getting money from them is pulling teeth, and they'll lie to avoid giving it to you.)

One tip, if you're not aware, is that you can pay in CAD. Just change it from USD to CAD at the top of the page. Unlike eBay, which lets sellers charge in whatever currency they want, Aliexpress lets buyers pay in whatever currency they want (well, I've only tried CAD).
Deal Fanatic
Dec 28, 2007
7884 posts
4516 upvotes
Alberta