looking for ecommerce accountant for corporation

• Last Updated:
  • May 23rd, 2021 2:20 pm
[OP]
May 9, 2021
1 posts

looking for ecommerce accountant for corporation

hi there,

I started an ecommerce business last year and am incorporated. I'm looking for an accountant for my ecommerce store. I've messaged a few accountants in my area (Markham/Scarborough/Toronto) and have received quotes ranging from $3,000-6,000 for my entire fiscal year. Services would include corporate tax returns, T4/T5 slips, personal tax returns, sales tax returns. I would be doing the bookkeeping myself. Does this sound normal? I thought it was kind of pricey, but I'm not sure since this is my first time filing corporation taxes.

Additionally, could anyone recommend an accountant with experience in ecommerce?
9 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jul 26, 2007
5742 posts
3256 upvotes
Toronto
Just be specific when you message the accountants near your area.

- T4 can be generated for free from cra business account
- personal tax you been doing since adulthood
- sales or HST remittance is pretty straight forward. Also can be done from cra business account. If not, pay the hst stub at your bank.
- source deduction if you have employees can also be done for free using cra online payroll calculator. Just need to handwrite cheques or use quickbooks or simply accounting software for computer generated cheques.

That leaves with T2 corp income tax. Just read few threads that people been talking about here to get an idea of the difficulty and cost of t2 yearly software. It sure isn't for everyone because of complexity unlike t1 software where you follow the wizard and be done. Avg t2 software being $200, 3k to 6k is tad alot for things you can do most yourself.
Deal Addict
Jan 19, 2007
1116 posts
515 upvotes
Torontario
peteryorkuca wrote: - sales or HST remittance is pretty straight forward. Also can be done from cra business account. If not, pay the hst stub at your bank.