• Last Updated:
  • Jul 14th, 2020 1:35 am
[OP]
Jul 11, 2020
2 posts
1 upvote

Looking good advice to buy my first house

Hi everyone,

First of all, I want to apologize for the long post.

I am currently renting, and I would like to buy a house, this is my situation:

1) I have been working as a technician for an IT company for the past 20 months.

2) My yearly wage is 50K + commissions.
I can earn roughly 30k through the commissions but currently due to the pandemic I have been earning my base salary for the past few months.

3) I am currently carrying a debt of 13k on my CC at 0% interest for a few more months.

4) My student loan debt is less than 5k and I have 4 more years to pay it in full.

5) My car broke down. It was a used car, and it was not worth to spend more money on it.
I made a bad choice when I asked for the help of one of my friend, supposedly a car genius, when I bought it.
I lost thousands of dollars while trying to fix the vehicle and in the process I also lost the friend :(
-------------
Now let me introduce the good parts, I hope :)

5) I am very frugal and I have saved 60K in my TFSA account.

6) My credit score is pretty high and was around 720, but is now 815, maybe because I always paid my bill in time and I never missed a payment.

My questions are :

a) How much mortgage do you think I can get from a bank or mortgage institute?

a.1 ) I have been working for my company for less than 2 years and I was reading that usually banks wants at least 2 years,of employment with your current employer.
Will the banks enforce this rule, especially now in this current economic situation?

b) I am looking for a house, not a condo or a townhouse because I want to avoid the maintenance fee, and I am planning to spend between 300k and 350k, and I am looking to buy in Brantford or St. Catherine or the areas around them.

c) I will need a car and I had a terrible experience with a used car and I prefer to buy a new car this time around.