• Last Updated:
  • Sep 10th, 2020 5:39 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Feb 2, 2010
1025 posts
868 upvotes

Looking for washer recommendations

We had our 8 year old $1500 Samsung front-load washer die on us on Sunday. Samsung has offered to cover the parts but we're on the hook for the labour. After talking to a couple of repair companies, it looks like that will mean about a $400-$600 repair bill, which to me is too much to put into an 8 year old washer. We're looking to purchase a new one and could use some thoughts on what a good brand is. We're not going to buy another Samsung, and I've had some very bad experiences with LG, so apart from those two brands, does anyone have any recommendations? Costco has this one, and so far that's the leader for us due to the warranty and free delivery and take-away.
28 replies
Deal Fanatic
Mar 17, 2004
5164 posts
592 upvotes
Just get a cheap ass one without the fancy functions. $1500 fancy pants one lasted you 8 years. Even if a cheap ass $9xxl. I've heard that the fancier it is, the more that can go wrong. Especially those electronic circuit boards they have. Like we're not buying something complicated like a computer. It fills it with water, dispenses detergent, then sloshes it around.
Deal Fanatic
Jul 7, 2017
5315 posts
2346 upvotes
SW corner of the cou…
I have one to sell you. My GE front loader. It was designed as a front loader using all the controls (manual probably electro mechanical dial with all the usual cycles) of an old-fashioned top loader. Probably will last a long time.
Cream rises to the top. So does scum.
Deal Guru
Mar 14, 2005
13349 posts
2250 upvotes
City of Vancouver
thriftshopper wrote: I have one to sell you. My GE front loader. It was designed as a front loader using all the controls (manual probably electro mechanical dial with all the usual cycles) of an old-fashioned top loader. Probably will last a long time.
R u in Vancouver?
De gustibus non est disputandum
Reverse dysfunction one step at a time.