Making a career change to accounting - need advice

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 21st, 2020 1:13 pm
[OP]
Feb 1, 2020
220 posts
79 upvotes

Making a career change to accounting - need advice

I am in my late 20s from Canada. I studied engineering in undergrad and for the last 5 years ive been working in supply chain. I kind of just fell onto that path because of my first internship. I am really shy and introverted.

I am on my third job out of university. Worked at first company for 4 years, second company for 3 months before quitting and now been 3 months on my third company. Really feeling burned out of this career. I dont have the creativity to constantly come up with process improvement initiative.There is also a lot of ambiguity at my current job which i hate.

I always said if i didnt go into engineering i would have gone into accounting. I took accounting in high school and it came really easily to me. Of course that was a high school level course.

I feel i would be good at accounting as from what i understand a lot of it is following rules.

I have come across a Masters in Accounting program which is 16 months. Been thinking of applying for next year but scared of committing and the realizing i do nit like accounting.

What advice do you have? Do you recommend a career switch to accounting at this age? Would i have a hard time finding a job with my background? Also what are the pros and cons of accounting in your opinion?

Thanks
5 replies
May 24, 2007
547 posts
205 upvotes
Hi, shy and introverted people aren't very suited for the accounting profession in general.
The accounting profession at the higher level is about communicating/translating financial information into useful actionable information for senior management. Not to mention most accountants start out a public firm doing mostly client facing work.