Market for software developers in Canada

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 10th, 2020 4:56 pm
[OP]
Oct 5, 2019
109 posts
101 upvotes

Market for software developers in Canada

I graduated and worked in the GTA for a number of years as a software developer, but have been in the states for the last 5 years or so.

Right before I left the GTA in 2014 I was a tech lead / architect making ~120k total. This I think was on the higher end. I interviewed locally and didn’t have too much trouble getting multiple offers for similar or slightly higher salary.

Recently I’m hearing a mix of things. Some people are telling me there is a tech boom and salaries and opportunities are going up. Others are telling me it’s getting more competitive to find a job and there is downward pressure.

What has been your experience recently?

Specifically:
- how do you feel about your ongoing earning potential? Increasing or decreasing or same?
- how do you feel about job prospects?

Including details like role, location, industry and current total compensation would be helpful. Thanks!
66 replies
Deal Fanatic
Dec 5, 2006
6291 posts
1903 upvotes
Markham
I feel you need pay people to tell you those details lol
Jun 30, 2019
52 posts
74 upvotes
Gorbers wrote: I graduated and worked in the GTA for a number of years as a software developer, but have been in the states for the last 5 years or so.

Right before I left the GTA in 2014 I was a tech lead / architect making ~120k total. This I think was on the higher end. I interviewed locally and didn’t have too much trouble getting multiple offers for similar or slightly higher salary.

Recently I’m hearing a mix of things. Some people are telling me there is a tech boom and salaries and opportunities are going up. Others are telling me it’s getting more competitive to find a job and there is downward pressure.

What has been your experience recently?

Specifically:
- how do you feel about your ongoing earning potential? Increasing or decreasing or same?