Masters program or college

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 19th, 2017 9:30 pm
[OP]
Nov 26, 2016
195 posts
53 upvotes

Masters program or college

After graduating university I am planning to leave my job and get more education...
I've heard different opinions on this, some say go do a masters-its only 2 years and could help you land a job in your field. The downside is that its very specific research, and it could limit the type of job you want. I always wonder-hypothetically, lets say I have a masters-then what do I do? Im so worried Ill be stuck in the same position. What do people with Masters degree do afterwards? Are they able to land jobs afterwards? OR are they pretty much forced to do a pHD if not successful?

For college programs you get some good experience maybe with a co-op. But a question I've always had is, are college programs looked down upon in comparison to university degrees? Would it look bad on a resume if I graduated from university then decided to go to college? I understand that some students have decided to take this route. Any body in the same boat? Any good outcomes?

Thanks
8 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 12, 2011
4129 posts
424 upvotes
Niagara-on-the-Lake
What would you pursue a master's in because that'll determine a lot of things. The one thing about a Master's is that it will help you stand out amomgst everyone with an undergrad.
[OP]
Nov 26, 2016
195 posts
53 upvotes
Well it would be a masters in science-I am not really sure what field yet. Ideally in a health / biology related field. I can apply to a masters program that is different from my undergraduate thesis right?
Deal Addict
Nov 12, 2011
4129 posts
424 upvotes
Niagara-on-the-Lake
ronnielarmond wrote: Well it would be a masters in science-I am not really sure what field yet. Ideally in a health / biology related field. I can apply to a masters program that is different from my undergraduate thesis right?