Students

Mature Student applying for Nursings. Advice needed

[OP]
May 21, 2020
6 posts
1 upvote

Mature Student applying for Nursings. Advice needed

Hello all,

I've been working within a hospital for over 12 years doing various jobs. I think I'm capable of being an RN but am nervous entering a 4-year program as a 30-year-old. I have a few questions i'll list out that are concerning me.

1) I have a business diploma as well as a certificate for a program I took at Seneca for a position at my workplace. My gpa for the diploma completed 8 years ago, were around 2.7, for the certificate program I got really high grades and this was done a year ago. When I apply, will they focus on the Diploma GPA or the GPA of the Certificate? is there a method to get in a little easier?

2) Are there any Nursing programs that I can do pre-requisite / elective courses online and bridge into a physical location after?

3) How challenging is this program? Full disclosure I attempted engineering but fell apart at advanced calculus and higher level math/science courses and moved to business. I also never took highschool Biology. Are the math courses very complex like advanced calculus or is it digestable like accounting/ finance related equations?

4) Working in the departments I've worked in I have a good repertoire with nurse managers and other high-end staff members, so assuming I can "talk my way in" after getting my accreditation what school offers the "most forgiving" program. I'm currently focusing on Ryerson but open to suggestions on easier-going schools.

5) Will I still be able to apply for OSAP? I paid my osap off before graduating from my diploma so I'm not sure if im eligible for osap twice especially at my age

Thanks for any advice.
4 replies
Jul 15, 2006
868 posts
55 upvotes
Mississauga, ON
Hi Dillon,

Nursing programs are rigorous, but not unattainable.