Tags:
None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jul 11, 2008
1949 posts
1476 upvotes

Maximizing Return on Short Term Investments

I have around $120k currently invested in select very conservative mutual funds through RBC. The break down for the investments is...

TFSA - maxed (including the additional $4,500 that the Conservative government has proposed to have the TFSA limit increased by)
RRSP - I've invested just over $25,000 - but I've been contributing to this for the last about ~3 years (current value is around 28k). The rationale behind me not maximizing my RRSP contribution is because my wife and I are planning on buying our first home by the end of this year and as a first time home buyer (I qualify for the HBP whereas my wife will not qualify this year), I did not want to tie up more money in my RRSP than I absolutely needed to (over the last 3 or so years, I've been contributing 7-10k into RRSP each year to lower my income bracket and get a tax return).
Non-registered investments - Currently invested around $50,500

As I mentioned above, my wife and I are planning on purchasing our first home later this year so my risk tolerance is next to nothing for obvious reasons. Both of us do not have any debt, we pay our credit card balances in full and the only other savings I personally have is around $10 k (5k each in both TD and BMO chequing accounts to take advantage of their respective all inclusive/premium plans). My wife has another $50-60 k in her savings as well but we are relatively newly married and have not combined bank accounts yet - we plan to do so soon (her savings are primarily in TFSA - same very conservative portfolio).