• Jan 14th, 2021 4:20 pm
[OP]
Dec 19, 2015
325 posts
95 upvotes
Newmarket, ON

Mechanical Keyboard Recommendations

Hey all,

I've used a laptop for about a decade and recently built my first PC. Looking into getting a mechanical keyboard because the old ones we have laying around are ... not great.

I would be going for Red or Brown Switches. Usage is primarily productivity/working, with some light gaming as well.

Budget of about $120 pre-tax. Does anyone have recommendations on the best bang for the buck at that budget level? First time looking for a keyboard in ages so I am quite new to this.

Note: I am not necessarily opposed to spending more than $120 if there is a strong justification for it.

TIA!
11 replies
Sep 30, 2020
88 posts
71 upvotes
Toronto
I have one of these and am happy with it. But I'm not really a gamer so am no expert. :) I just use it sometimes to change up the typing feel (and the clicking feel and sound can be so satisfying). No issues with it so far and I like the illumination if you're using it at low light.

Eagletec KG010 Mechanical Keyboard
[OP]
Dec 19, 2015
325 posts
95 upvotes
Newmarket, ON
Thanks for the rec!

Do you know what the difference is between the two? There's like a $30 price difference.

Also would you happen to know if the keys are replaceable with like a typical Cherry MX Red key? Just in case anything happens.
Deal Addict
Apr 1, 2015
1552 posts
916 upvotes
NOYB
birdbird wrote: Thanks for the rec!

Do you know what the difference is between the two? There's like a $30 price difference.

Also would you happen to know if the keys are replaceable with like a typical Cherry MX Red key? Just in case anything happens.
k556 is made of metal.

I think they are replaceable as I read discussions on Reddragon keyboards elsewhere online. But, shoot the seller a message if you want.
*Zoomer + VoIP.ms user*

🖕 to the self righteous double standard fascist POS on this forum.
[OP]
Dec 19, 2015
325 posts
95 upvotes
Newmarket, ON