Expired Hot Deals

[Memory Express] RED 10TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 256MB Cache - $279.99

[OP]
Oct 12, 2018
5 posts
16 upvotes

[Memory Express] RED 10TB NAS Desktop Hard Drive, SATA III w/ 256MB Cache - $279.99

I believe that this is the lowest price it has ever been. I checked on Amazon using *************** and the lowest reported price was $306

https://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX67168
17 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 26, 2008
3846 posts
1652 upvotes
Appreciate the post.

We now have a 6, 8, and 10TB thread. We should maybe pair them up?
Sep 26, 2018
489 posts
1048 upvotes
+ 9$ shipping unless you can pick up in store
I have spoken
Feb 19, 2009
362 posts
346 upvotes
Brampton
I have about 60 TB across 10 drives currently, and i've been rocking a home server for over 10 years now.
I really don't get why people overpay for NAS quality drives.

I have the odd failure, sure. But I always run redundant raids, and when I pay half the price per TB I always come out ahead.
Maybe if you "really did" use these drives 24/7 that would be an issue. My drives are sleeping 22-24 hours a day.

Guess if you have the money why not, but you need to back up anyway, so what's the big deal about reliability?
$20-$25 per TB, thats my cut off.

I'm not trolling the deal, clearly some people like these, but I just don't get it.
Feb 11, 2010
114 posts
119 upvotes
GTA
acidcaribou wrote: I have about 60 TB across 10 drives currently, and i've been rocking a home server for over 10 years now.

I have the odd failure, sure. But I always run redundant raids, and when I pay half the price per TB I always come out ahead.
Maybe if you "really did" use these drives 24/7 that would be an issue. My drives are sleeping 22-24 hours a day.

Guess if you have the money why not, but you need to back up anyway, so what's the big deal about reliability?

I'm not trolling the deal, clearly some people like these, but I just don't get it.
What are you running FreeNAS?
Deal Addict
Jan 13, 2003