Home & Garden

Middle of garage ceiling sagging/sinking?

• Last Updated:
  • Jun 3rd, 2019 11:44 am
Tags:
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Oct 1, 2004
5805 posts
501 upvotes
Toronto

Middle of garage ceiling sagging/sinking?

8 year old home, Tarion structural warranty is 7 years, so I believe I’m sol.

Noticed this big gap running across top of my garage ceiling, middle seems to be where the biggest gap is, while it gets narrower towards the sides.

There are no sign of leak or water damage on the ceiling surface. I’m no professional but shouldn’t there be nails across the top attaching the piece across to the ceiling? Seems like it’s purely supported by the sides with no support in the middle.

Anyone had anything similar?
Images
  • BEDCEC06-A7FE-4C43-A07C-A9709E6D3A43.jpeg
  • 6FC33DA7-579F-4AC8-A8FB-4E46AA0E341D.jpeg
  • 09909620-B962-4469-A0E2-567EAACFE32C.jpeg
18 replies
Deal Fanatic
Oct 23, 2008
8814 posts
5125 upvotes
Toronto (Markham)
Jerico wrote:
Jun 2nd, 2019 9:15 pm
Room above garage? Or unfinished attic space?

I’d get up there with a flashlight ASAP. Looks like something has given way.
I'm guessing there is a room above it because there is no reason for the ceiling to drop like that versus the section closer to the garage door.
Tis banana is IRIE :razz:

10% off is cold, 50% off is warm, 75% off is hot, but FREE IS RFD!
Deal Addict
Jan 19, 2011
2818 posts
1020 upvotes
from what you have described, it looks like your roof truss structure has decided to separate from your stick framed structure. Most modern houses are conventionally / stick framed, with walls comprising studs with top and bottom plates, built on floors. On top of the finished frame structure, carefully designed roof trusses are placed. BUT.... These roof trusses are lightweight but extremely rigid structures, and they rely on a uniform height top plate around the entire framed structure on which they rest.