• Apr 23rd, 2015 9:35 am
Tags:
None
[OP]
May 18, 2008
183 posts
3 upvotes

misleading pay job ad

went to interview and got call for job offer doing marketing assistant work. the job ad noted it pays 15 hour but I got job offer call and he said he like hire me but 12 hour.it didn't say 12-15 but just 15. The thing is I can do everything the job description noted and plus I got a diploma in business from local college.
is this legal and what would you do. take up the job or ask for the hourly wage noted or ask for more money. the location of the job would take me approx. one hour to get there ,and 3 transfers via bus , skytrain and bus

he did say the job be re-locating to more central location in few months but who nows as he lied in job ad will be lie about relocation too.maybe there will be no relocation
9 replies
[OP]
May 18, 2008
183 posts
3 upvotes
It's startup marketing company too. Im guessing only 5 employees
Nov 26, 2013
762 posts
671 upvotes
Winnipeg
That's a potentially sticky situation. Do you have a copy of the ad at least?
Deal Addict
Oct 29, 2010
4325 posts
673 upvotes
You could counter his offer and say 15 per hour.
He will probably say something like, if you had more experience then you would get 15.
Feb 22, 2015
235 posts
29 upvotes
Toronto, ON
how badly do you need the job? if you are not desperate, just come out and say you applied because the ad said 15, and you will take it for 15, but no less :)
[OP]
May 18, 2008
183 posts
3 upvotes
He calls me back 4 days later explaining how ad said 15 but offer me 12 and how the 12 hour just probation . How can one make 3 dollar extra in 2 month probation. No employer does that.lol ontop it's startup company to
What excuse bs guy
Deal Addict
Oct 29, 2010
4325 posts
673 upvotes
If you need the job and he will put it in writing that after 2 months (assuming he doesn't fire you before) you are getting 15 per hour then that's OK.
If he's refusing to put it in writing then it's a red flag.
Deal Fanatic