• Last Updated:
  • Jan 5th, 2021 8:57 pm
Aug 18, 2018
75 posts
79 upvotes

Mortgage with or without spouse

Hi All,

I'm pretty new to Mortgage in Canada.
What is the consideration when deciding to put your spouse name in the mortgage or not?
From what I read if you don't put your spouse in mortgage the house will be only on your name and if you are married (and common laws?) it will be a matrimonial home and doesn't matter who's name in the property.
Especially if your spouse is not currently working, is there any benefit putting your spouse name?

Thank you.
15 replies
Aug 18, 2018
75 posts
79 upvotes
GTAViews wrote: The benefit of including your spouse in the mortgage can potentially increase how much you can be approved for (accounting for their income into the equation). If you don't include your spouse's name on the title and both of you reside in the property, you are correct, it will be a matrimonial home. Even though their name won't be on title, I believe you will need their consent to sell the home.
Thanks.
That's why I don't see any benefit putting your spouse name in the mortgage when he/she is not currently working.

*For your matrimonial home
Jan 22, 2017
694 posts
1160 upvotes
If both the spouses are working, can both of them claim First time home buyers benefits while buying separate properties
Deal Addict
Jan 15, 2010
1629 posts
2027 upvotes
Toronto
I'm not 100% sure the house would be matrimonial home for common law partners if both aren't on the mortgage/title. But you would have to cover all housing related expenses yourself. And the second you get married half that house is gone anyway.
Aug 18, 2018
75 posts
79 upvotes