most difficult job search I've ever had

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 13th, 2017 10:12 pm
May 12, 2011
291 posts
48 upvotes
TORONTO

most difficult job search I've ever had

I'm basically freaking out right now. I'm going through the most difficult job search of my life - and I'm 50, so that's a long time. I've got more skills, experience, etc than ever, I have a new master's degree in the exact field I'm applying to, and I haven't gotten a callback in over 2 months. Zero, zip, nada.

I've followed all the job search advice, and I've gotten many jobs over the years, so I don't think I'm doing anything terribly wrong. I had a very successful short-term contract over the summer, so as far as I can tell I can still do a job, get on with people, and so on. I've run out of ideas.

What do you do when NOTHING seems to work?
75 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 22, 2009
2782 posts
664 upvotes
Toronto
What Master's degree and which field?
Deal Addict
Jan 1, 2017
1826 posts
1876 upvotes
pinkpearl wrote: I'm basically freaking out right now. I'm going through the most difficult job search of my life - and I'm 50, so that's a long time. I've got more skills, experience, etc than ever, I have a new master's degree in the exact field I'm applying to, and I haven't gotten a callback in over 2 months. Zero, zip, nada.

I've followed all the job search advice, and I've gotten many jobs over the years, so I don't think I'm doing anything terribly wrong. I had a very successful short-term contract over the summer, so as far as I can tell I can still do a job, get on with people, and so on. I've run out of ideas.

Have you had a peer of yours review your resume? How many pages is your resume? How many jobs have you applied to so far?
May 12, 2011
291 posts
48 upvotes
TORONTO
blitzforce wrote: What Master's degree and which field?
Too doxxy to say. But my former classmates have mostly found jobs with no difficulty. There are a few of us who are struggling.
Sep 11, 2017
548 posts
404 upvotes