• Last Updated:
  • Feb 7th, 2020 11:03 am
[OP]
Sep 12, 2018
721 posts
684 upvotes
Edmonton

Moving to Edmonton, How bad is the idea

I am an international student studying in Montreal. I am about to finish my graduation. I am planning to move to Toronto (Primarily due to immigration complexity in Quebec). My wife is currently living with me. She had an interview with a Professor from the University of Alberta (Edmonton) for Masters in Pharmaceutical Sciences (Not licensed Pharmacist, research track).

Nothing is confirmed yet. But for the sake of argument, let's assume the professor offers her the research assistant position. In that case, will it be a bad idea to move to Edmonton under current circumstances?

My wife is now working at a call center in Montreal. It's ok for the time being, but definitely below her skill level. I want to help my wife grow to the best of my ability. But I don't want to be in a scenario where I get stuck in a city without job or working at jobs below my skill level with no end in sight.

I am primarily interested in DevOps positions. Is finding this kind of job difficult in Edmonton?
17 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jan 12, 2005
5131 posts
1770 upvotes
Mississauga
I've worked in Edmonton for a short while and my co-worker is currently living in Edmonton. Besides the colder weather and the speed cameras, I prefer it over Toronto. It's much easier to find a place to live and the lower sales tax is awesome. Stores and food you find in Toronto you can find in Edmonton.

I can't comment on the job prospect though as I'm not in that field.

Edit: Whoops sorry, just realized this was the Career thread and not travel tread.
[OP]
Sep 12, 2018
721 posts
684 upvotes
Edmonton
For the time being, I want to ignore the weather. The only thing that's crossing my mind, is job prospects.
Banned
Jan 13, 2020
87 posts
109 upvotes
Edmonton has the highest unemployment of major cities in Canada right now and the tech industry is relatively small here.
Deal Fanatic