Careers

My manager is firing me because I have been working overtime voluntarily. Am I wrong?

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 19th, 2020 9:41 am
[OP]
Jun 13, 2020
28 posts
17 upvotes

My manager is firing me because I have been working overtime voluntarily. Am I wrong?

I am a junior software developer who has started working for only 3 weeks.
I work 9-10 hours everyday and even in weekends if I don't have anything else to do.
I just want to spend my time more productively, and I believe there is only one way leading to success which is hard working.
However, my administrative manager is firing me because of this. When I pushed my code and built in offwork time, she could see that, and she is unhappy about that.
I asked her what negative impact I would put on the company by working overtime voluntarily, she didn't provide any persuasive reasons except my own health and balance between work and life, which are my own business.
I told her the only possible one I could think of was I working overtime making my cowokers look bad, but the fact is no one else really realized I have been working more than 8 hours per day.

Could someone tell if I am wrong?
If there are employees in your companies working overtime voluntarily, will they be fired or under big pressure as well?

To be honest, the way I see it is that, my administrative manager is a control freak. The whole is not about working overtime, it is about I am not obeying her. That is all.

Thanks!
Last edited by OIygey on Sep 9th, 2020 10:35 am, edited 1 time in total.
94 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 7, 2007
4803 posts
2330 upvotes
IF YOU ARE IN ONTARIO...