Credit Cards

My university is allowing credit card payments for the first time. What is the best CC for 1 or 2 large payments?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 8th, 2021 10:39 am
Tags:
None
[OP]
Nov 4, 2019
6 posts
3 upvotes

My university is allowing credit card payments for the first time. What is the best CC for 1 or 2 large payments?

I am a student working part-time, and currently have the Tangerine mastercard, and the Scotiabank Visa Infinite. Is there a card with a massive welcome bonus that I could take advantage of for a big $8,000 payment?
26 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 8, 2017
1556 posts
885 upvotes
Get a 10 % promo card. Cibc
They hand em out like a needy kid with a new deck of hockey cards
Deal Expert
Jan 9, 2011
15243 posts
20514 upvotes
Vancouver
User455957 wrote: Get a 10 % promo card. Cibc
They hand em out like a needy kid with a new deck of hockey cards
A student who works part time isn't likely to have the $60k income required to get Visa Infinite or $80k for MC World Elite cards. Try Scotiabank Amex Gold. Only $12k income needed. $500 welcome bonus for spending $7500, which OP can do immediately.
May 24, 2019
384 posts
403 upvotes
Toronto
Kiraly wrote: A student who works part time isn't likely to have the $60k income required to get Visa Infinite or $80k for MC World Elite cards. Try Scotiabank Amex Gold. Only $12k income needed. $500 welcome bonus for spending $7500, which OP can do immediately.
They already said in the first post they have a Scotiabank Visa Infinite, so they can probably manage to grab one of the good intro bonus cards (Also, universities usually only take Visa and Mastercard, no Amex)
Aug 9, 2020
873 posts
473 upvotes
beauramsay wrote: I am a student working part-time, and currently have the Tangerine mastercard, and the Scotiabank Visa Infinite. Is there a card with a massive welcome bonus that I could take advantage of for a big $8,000 payment?
Which university is allowing this credit card payment.