Ongoing Deal Discussion

NAS Superthread (current deals on NAS devices)

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 10th, 2019 12:31 pm
Deal Addict
Dec 24, 2001
1787 posts
821 upvotes
Toronto
Not sure what you mean. WD PR2100 has only 2 drive bay, you can't added larger drive unless you remove the 2TB drive
SS76SS wrote:
Jan 3rd, 2019 2:32 pm
I am looking for a solution to back up my photos and videos from a number of devices, and I want extra backup in case of failure. I am also interested in streaming the photos or videos through Chromecast using Plex on my TV's.

Is the best option for me the WD My Cloud PR2100 (4TB)? I believe that comes with 2x2TB red drives that I can use for RAID 0, and then I'll purchase 2x4TB red drives and assign them to RAID 1 for my stated purpose. Does this setup make sense? I'm new to NAS just as an FYI.
May 22, 2016
121 posts
39 upvotes
lurker99 wrote:
Jan 3rd, 2019 3:09 pm
Not sure what you mean. WD PR2100 has only 2 drive bay, you can't added larger drive unless you remove the 2TB drive
Oh, I had thought that the 4TB was build into the unit, and that the drive bays were empty so that you could add what you wanted. I guess then the approach I should be taking is to get a diskless drive, and buy a couple of 3 or 4 TB drives assigned to RAID 1 since that is my primarily purpose for these.

Quite pricey! $547 for the MyCloud PR2100, and $139 for a single 3TB WD red NAS drive (need to but two)......Checking camel, these aren't far off the lowest prices for these.
Deal Addict
Jun 2, 2012
1187 posts
411 upvotes
GTA
Since this is the most active NAS topic here, I have a TS-251+ with 8GB for sale... not sure how much they go for on the used market?
Deal Addict
Oct 29, 2002
1668 posts
173 upvotes
Toronto
Is a UPS strongly recommended for NAS devices?

If so, what do you recommend for a DS918+?
Deal Guru
Aug 26, 2002
11662 posts
3736 upvotes
Toronto, ON
chowder wrote:
Jan 7th, 2019 11:11 am