• Last Updated:
  • Sep 7th, 2021 11:41 pm
[OP]
Jul 6, 2008
228 posts
28 upvotes
Toronto

Need advice on disability insurance for depression

I've been paying into disability insurance for 15 years, mainly in case of physical injury.
Recently though, I've been having a very tough time mentally. It's become almost impossible for
me to go through my daily routine - even the smallest things - and I've had to stop work until I can figure this out.

I'm wondering how difficult it is to claim depression for disability insurance and what steps are involved?
It certainly isn't as easy as proving a physical injury and I imagine the insurance company won't exactly make this a simple process and there will probably be a lot of hoops to jump through.

Do any of you have experience with this?

I am self-employed btw.
11 replies
Deal Expert
Dec 12, 2009
27600 posts
17992 upvotes
Toronto
I would assume that each case is unique because mental illness is not as concretely identifiable as a physical disability. Given the large number of law firms that specialize in disability claims, I would imagine that the legal process is a popular/necessary path to take for non physical disabilities. It appears to be quite the racket when they all claim to charge nothing unless the customer wins. I would imagine that law firms might provide insight into potential success as who would engage in a case with no prospects of profit. It starts with making a claim. Give it a go and see where it lands. Be ready to seek legal counsel.
Koodo $40/6GB
Public Mobile $117/90GB/90 days, $102/60GB/90 days, $25/5GB, lot less with rewards
Tangerine Bank, EQ Bank, Simplii
Deal Addict
Nov 13, 2013
4189 posts
3346 upvotes
Ottawa
I’d question the value of doing this. They generally expect total disability and you can’t do anything work like orbit can get you in trouble. So for example had a friend who couldn’t sit at a desk for 8 hours but wanted to freelance. Nope.unpaid volunteer work. Nope.