• Last Updated:
  • May 16th, 2019 5:24 pm
[OP]
Jan 20, 2019
182 posts
327 upvotes
Ajax, ON

Need Advise on Tire Change Tools

It's time to swap tires and I am new to these stuff.

I looked at a youtube and seems it can be done by using tools that came with car.

Do RFD members recommend to buy better tools as tools comes with car are to use in emergency and may not be for long run.
If yes please suggest which one?

Thanks
12 replies
Deal Fanatic
Sep 2, 2006
5988 posts
665 upvotes
Stouffville, ON
Listen a few places you can go are:

- PRINCESS AUTO with great warranty (essentially same as costco)
- Canadian tire when they have their sales of 70% off.
- Costco - For some bigger items and again warranty

Tools you absolutely need:

- Jackstand - -costco has a great one for about $100. Princess auto is similar
- Deep sockets
- Torque wrench
- Breaker bar - Canadian tire has this on sale right now

Nice to have

- Multiple jacks and jack stands
- Impact gun and impact sockets

I invested in a lot of those things over time and it's been used multiple, multiple times. I went from just changing my own tires and oil, to doing everything that doesn't require exhaust, lift or electrical. It's good for yes saving money more importantly understanding how everything works, why it costs what it costs, and how to do it the right way so it lasts longer. Also that sense of achievement is really nice to have plus a lot of the skills and tools are transferable around the home.

My tire changes feature:

- Floor jack
- Impact gun and impact sockets
- Breaker bar/Torque stick
- Torque wrench
- Grease pen to mark tires which side they came off from
- Tire bags