Need help on how to negotiate with dealership

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 25th, 2019 7:01 pm
[OP]
Oct 24, 2019
2 posts
1 upvote

Need help on how to negotiate with dealership

Hello all, I'm a 21 y.o student and this is my very first time to reach out to a dealership and buy my very first new car!! I'm excited to buy the new 2019 Nissan Kicks SR (Atlantic Area). I need help with what to do and how much do you think it's appropriate for me to deal with the new one? I've been researching on google of how to negotiate with car dealers but I also want to hear from you all who has more experiences than me. Thanks a lot!
18 replies
Deal Expert
May 10, 2005
36189 posts
10335 upvotes
Ottawa
Do you have the money? Or do you need it financed by the dealer? The tactics are different for each.
If you have the money, walk in, tell them you are ready to buy today, with cash. If they do not give you a good enough deal, be prepared to walk out.
If you need to finance at the dealer, well, they kind of have it over you.

Go in several times to look. Make sure the same sales people see you. Take a paper and start writing things down, make it look like you are comparing. Then at the end of a month, be ready to make the deal. All dealers have monthly targets and that is when they are most willing to bargain.
The Government cannot give to anybody anything that the Government does not first take from somebody else.
Deal Guru
Oct 5, 2008
14020 posts
8117 upvotes
Toronto
get the Unhaggle or CarCostCanada report and follow the instructions there.
May 13, 2010
140 posts
61 upvotes