• May 29th, 2017 7:13 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
May 3, 2005
1341 posts
207 upvotes
Woodbridge

Need new access points to replace Cisco Meraki

So I've been using the Cisco Meraki APs for almost three years now and their licenses are coming up to expire. Unfortunately I can't justify spending $150 per year per AP to keep the two of them around. So I'm wondering what alternatives are out there that can have some of the feature sets that the Merakis do?

So far I think this is some of the features I'd like to keep around with whatever new vendor I go with at home:

at least 3 SSIDs
ability to schedule SSIDs
isolate guests somehow
heatmaps (nice to have)
application inspection/identification or some kind of traffic analysis (nice to see what the kids are doing :))
POE

I'm probably leaning towards the Ubiquiti Unifi series but not sure if Google WiFi is a fit or any other vendor. I should also note that I'm using a pfsense firewall and that's not going to go away.

Thanks for any suggestions.
8 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2004
30467 posts
5026 upvotes
East Gwillimbury
I have some Ubiquiti UniFi AC Long Range Access points currently posted on the Buy and Sell forum if you want to try it out
Deal Fanatic
Nov 18, 2002
6997 posts
603 upvotes
Toronto
The new Unifi APs should cover you for the above. If you want a more out of the box solution that includes scheduling, guest access etc. you'll need to also deploy a unifi USG (unifi's router solution) together with your APs.
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2004
30467 posts
5026 upvotes
East Gwillimbury
ichpen wrote:
May 28th, 2017 9:48 am
The new Unifi APs should cover you for the above. If you want a more out of the box solution that includes scheduling, guest access etc. you'll need to also deploy a unifi USG (unifi's router solution) together with your APs.
He has a pfSense router which will not be replaced. I don't blame him, I use pfSense as well and I would not go to an appliance grade router