Negotiating salary

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 14th, 2021 8:35 pm
Oct 3, 2012
121 posts
21 upvotes
Scarborough

Negotiating salary

The company i just interviewed for are almost done reference/education. The salary range of the post is $85k to $95k. It is a data analytics job in the healthcare industry. They interviewed four and I was the final candidate they selected. My manager resigned from my current company and went to this company who spoke highly of me to department director and HR there. My current salary is $83k that is because the place I work in don't increase salary of staff and below peers in terms of salary. I know ppl less technical than me got better salary elsewhere. I am extremely technical , plus I have master and over 10 years of Healthcare experience. I request $90k to $95k from phone interview. Is that reasonable? Will HR ask what is my current salary? If yes should I lie and say $87k?
22 replies
Mar 26, 2013
424 posts
63 upvotes
Toronto
State your specific salary preference or else they will give you the lower end of the salary on the range you provided. Dont give a range. I would ask for $95,000.
Last edited by lovetolearn on Aug 10th, 2021 10:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Nov 15, 2016
543 posts
472 upvotes
I generally don't disagree, but don't ask for $5k above your current salary, that translates to $3k post-tax, maybe slightly less after you subtract benefits. Ask yourself, is a new job worth $2.5k post tax?

What type of data analytics are you doing? Business intelligence? (using Python, SQL, Tableau / other tools?) or more so a general data analytics (excel / tableau?, building end user reporting?). Depending on what your skills are and the type of role, data analytic positions with someone with a solid 10yoe can go from $100-130k. Understand what your market value is to the company and don't undersell yourself.