Real Estate

Which neighbourhood to buy in Toronto/GTA?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 25th, 2021 3:13 pm
[OP]
Nov 22, 2009
160 posts
191 upvotes
Toronto

Which neighbourhood to buy in Toronto/GTA?

Hi everyone, I'm a professional that works from home and go to the office once/twice a week. I would like to start a family soon and move to a bigger place and in the process of gathering the most suitable neighbourhoods before getting a realtor involved

I'm looking for a few things:
1. Good schools (7 or above in the rating)
2. Safe neighbourhood with somewhat similar education level/professionals with kids
3. Commutable by public transit: family and friends are in downtown/midtown Toronto so ideally they can come help with the baby
4. Ideally detached but maybe needs to be semi
5. Budget $1,2m

Any thoughts or ideas on neighbourhoods?
Last edited by vbomb on Aug 24th, 2021 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
11 replies
Feb 10, 2008
631 posts
491 upvotes
Thats a huge range of a budget if its meant to say $1-$2M...

With that budget and your other criteria I would say Leaside is a good area that fits your wants/needs.
[OP]
Nov 22, 2009
160 posts
191 upvotes
Toronto
Tokic_o wrote: Thats a huge range of a budget if its meant to say $1-$2M...

With that budget and your other criteria I would say Leaside is a good area that fits your wants/needs.
Oh I mean $1,200,000 not $1-2m
Apr 14, 2021
14 posts
14 upvotes
Burlington is good. I am there and love it. Oakville is more expensive but you can still get something for if trying hard 1.2M.
My family is mixed since I am from Asia and my hubby is from Europe so we want a place that doesn't have strong minority cause we want our kid to be well rounded.
Deal Addict
Jun 18, 2020
2652 posts
3174 upvotes
If you can stretch to 1.4m, then maybe semis at Davisville or north of Lawrence on the Yonge subway line. There would be other options in the east end of city on the subway line, but it's a good ways to the family unless you drive.
Deal Addict