Ongoing Deal Discussion

[Netflix] Cheaper Netflix - YMMV (non Canadian subscription)

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 4th, 2021 7:50 am
[OP]
Sep 28, 2012
53 posts
51 upvotes

[Netflix] Cheaper Netflix - YMMV (non Canadian subscription)

Retailer:
Netflix
More offers from Netflix
YMMV

With Netflix the catalog is that from the country you are on, but the account/pricing, is from the country the account is registered on.

I realized Argentina has much cheaper rates. I don't have VPN so I gave my Canadian credit card to a relative and they signed me up.
With VPN it should be the same. Netflix needs to locate you in Argentina to offer pricing in pesos.

https://www.comparitech.com/blog/vpn-pr ... flix-cost/

I have been using it for a couple of months now no problem. I have the Ultra plan (most expensive) and I have been charged
CAD $10.50, to $11.30 (as exchange fluctuates) . Still way cheaper than local pricing
Last edited by aasoror on Feb 21st, 2021 10:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: updated title
103 replies
Jul 8, 2019
344 posts
163 upvotes
The link you posted shows ARS 449 for premium plan in Argentina. That is CAD 6.34. How are you charged CAD 10.5 for it?
Dec 11, 2008
446 posts
257 upvotes
Toronto
How do you change your existing billing from one country to another?
[OP]
Sep 28, 2012
53 posts
51 upvotes
Unsure. The country has multiple exchange rates, and there can be local taxes. That's why I shared what I actually pay in Canadian
Apr 24, 2018
80 posts
41 upvotes
interesting. how is the content compared to Canadian netflix ?
[OP]
Sep 28, 2012
53 posts
51 upvotes
RussellP53756 wrote: interesting. how is the content compared to Canadian netflix ?
The catalog is the local Canadian catalog. This is similar as if you were to travel to USA (post COVID). If you use your Canadian Netflix account in USA, you would have USA catalog, but you are still paying in Canadian dollars
Sep 3, 2019
735 posts
452 upvotes
GTA