• Last Updated:
  • Sep 1st, 2021 10:34 am
[OP]
Jun 9, 2020
17 posts
2 upvotes

New Landlord in Ontario

Hi all,
I am thinking of renting out my property in Ontario. After reading posts on different landlord threads, I am scared to rent it out. I am new to this, do I need paralegal for paperwork ? What are most common problems for new landlord ?

Thanks
23 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 30, 2010
3610 posts
1912 upvotes
Greater Toronto Area
If you've read other posts on this forum about issues that other landlords have faced, then you're probably already aware of what the common problems are.

Just do your research instead of relying on anecdotal advice so that you know what to look for when screening potential tenants. If you're able to land a good tenant, then you'll be fine.

Good luck to you though, LOL
RichmondCA wrote: Leading indicator on bear market, when you see this avatar start popping up in this thread
Deal Addict
Nov 2, 2020
1438 posts
2071 upvotes
MrLost wrote: Hi all,
I am thinking of renting out my property in Ontario. After reading posts on different landlord threads, I am scared to rent it out. I am new to this, do I need paralegal for paperwork ? What are most common problems for new landlord ?

Thanks
Not every person has a bad experience. The most important thing you can do is a proper screening. Even if you get help from a PM or realtor do your own due diligence and investigation into the tenant.
Deal Expert
Feb 29, 2008
19071 posts
17394 upvotes
Tarrana & The Ri…
Screen, screen, screen. Don’t go easy on anyone, don’t take their word for anything. As long as you understand how badly you would be screwed with a poor tenant, you will do your due diligence to avoid that.

Do your due diligence. Every tenant seems great at first. Also if you’re getting an agent to do the work, make sure they're not cutting corners.
Deal Fanatic
Jan 15, 2017
5223 posts
5262 upvotes
Ottawa