New Sod - more help needed

• Last Updated:
  • Jul 22nd, 2019 10:50 am
[OP]
Jan 15, 2004
304 posts
1 upvote

New Sod - more help needed

Thanks everyone for your advice on the sprinkler question. Many of the brown patched seemed to have recovered and turned green. However I had a couple of other questions:

I had my sod installed by a landscaper on July 2 , so it's been about 16 days. The roots seemed to have taken hold as I've tried tugging at the corners and it won't lift. However the grass seems to be uneven/slightly bumpy when I walk on it. So just wondering if that will eventually settle down on its own or if I need to do something? Is running a lawn roller advisable to get the lawn even/flat? Would mowing help - perhaps due to the weight of the lawn mower ?
(As you can tell from my questions I'm a complete noob at this and in hindsight should have hired someone better to do the job)

Looking forward to your advice !
Last edited by avid on Jul 18th, 2019 6:14 pm, edited 2 times in total.
16 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jan 25, 2007
6627 posts
2987 upvotes
Paris
avid wrote:
Jul 12th, 2019 10:14 am
Hi
I recently had new sod installed about a week and a half ago and have been using a sled oscillating sprinkler and a bunch of areas seem to be going brown and I was told that this type of sprinkler isn't great as the water stream goes really high and has small droplets, leading to less concentrated watering. So I was looking for suggestions on which type might be more appropriate to use. I have an L shaped lawn which totals about 1200 sq ft. I am not looking to install a system, just need something that I can insert the hose into.

I've Included a picture of the current one I'm using.

Looking forward to your advice !
I own about 6 or 7 heads built for an inground system I set up for various parts of the lawn attached to spikes.
For sale: Ego 56V 5aH batteries, BNIB
https://forums.redflagdeals.com/ego-law ... h-2294293/
[OP]
Jan 15, 2004
304 posts
1 upvote