Personal Finance

Newbie here looking for an insurance plan. Any recommendations?

• Last Updated:
  • Feb 9th, 2021 9:49 am
Nov 25, 2019
36 posts
6 upvotes

Newbie here looking for an insurance plan. Any recommendations?

Hey,

First off, I apologize if this is the wrong section, as I wasn't sure if there's a more fitting section.

I've been going through some pretty bad mental health issues lately and I'm looking to purchase counselling / mental help services from a therapist. That being said, I've never bought insurance before. Other than knowing big names like SunLife and ManuLife, I don't really know much else about the industry, best practices, or how it works. I'm self-employed and so I don't have employer-provided insurance either.

I realize that sessions can be "covered" by insurance...problem is, I'm clueless as to how this works. I was thinking maybe I can purchase some sort of insurance plan and use that towards the mental help sessions, right? Instead of shelling out, say, $120 per session out of pocket (as I don't have that kind of money, unfortunately).

So essentially, am I looking at shopping around for an insurance plan (let's say from SunLife or ManuLife), signing up for the plan, and then getting reimbursed every time I purchase a mental help session? Is that the idea?

I was wondering if anybody could help point me in some direction with this, as I'm pretty embarrassed that I haven't taken the time earlier to be more proactive about this aspect of my life.

Thank-you so much in advance!
4 replies
Deal Addict
Oct 24, 2010
2985 posts
3186 upvotes
Ottawa
I don't know too much about private health insurance, but there are typically annual maxmimus for practitioners like therapists. You're typically covered 80% to a maximum of $300-$500/year.

So for a $100 session, you pay $20 and insurance pays $80. And you have a maximum of 4-6 of those covered sessions per year before maxing the dollar value.