[No Frills] New Crop BOTAN CALROSE RICE $12.88 starts Thursday May 16

• Last Updated:
  • May 17th, 2019 1:48 pm
[OP]
Jan 20, 2018
28 posts
194 upvotes

[No Frills] New Crop BOTAN CALROSE RICE $12.88 starts Thursday May 16

I been waiting for this brand of sushi rice on sale for so long after the winter. No frills will have the new crop for $12.88 tarts tomorrow (Thursday May 16). Real Canadian Superstore occasionally have it on sale for $14.99. Best price was happened last year in Walmart for $9.88, and OSS in three days.

This is my favorite rice, it's incredible, perfect sushi rice. Please don't give me down vote if you prefer long grain jasmine rice.

You can also price match in nearby Walmart store, but remember to choose NEW CROP ONLY, that makes a big difference.

Here is a review from Amazon that may helps you know how to cook it:
This is short grain white rice, which is the most commonly used rice to make "sticky rice" for sushi. I am a novice sushi maker myself and this the only rice I use for my home made sushi. You'll want to read up on how to prepare sushi rice but I can give you my general steps. First, I wash the rice in a strainer until the water runs as clear as possible. Otherwise, the rice powder from processing and packaging will make your rice overly sticky. Next, I soak the rice in my rice maker for 30 minutes, then I use the white rice setting and cook until done, then I leave the rice in the machine on the warm setting for 30 minutes. Afterwards, I season the rice with my rice-vinegar sushi seasoning mix and fan to cool. These basic steps will give great tasting sticky rice.

actng wrote:
May 15th, 2019 5:40 pm
what's new crop only and why does it make a big difference?

also, i don't think you're supposed to wash this rice, cuz it's so expensive it's already prewashed or something?