Investing

is now the time to invest in oil stocks?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 4th, 2024 9:55 am
Tags:
Deal Fanatic
Dec 14, 2010
7113 posts
9300 upvotes
greenbox wrote: Is there a mathematical formula to calculate the intrinsic value?
Depending on earnings growth, I either use Graham's formula or Lynch's formula or an extrapolation of both considering historical P/E ratio for the last 5 and 10 years.

Keep in mind this is just part of the puzzle. The other piece is estimated earnings, through market consensus and corporate guidance.

Rod
Deal Fanatic
Dec 14, 2010
7113 posts
9300 upvotes
gwplant wrote: So now what market timers? Today is called follow through. Keep convincing yourself to wait on the sideline and not commit money.
As an investor, I keep adding more to the companies I find undervalued.

As a trader, I remain long on the 10 undervalued stocks (5 small cap and 5 large cap) since the rules are based on fundamentals only. And on TLT (XLB.TO) for the pure market timing model with ETFs. By coincidence, so does Mojena. Monday and yesterday bonds were higher than the market.

I also just noticed that XIV's EMA (50) went below EMA (200). Same with MA. I'll probably go long XIV again once it crosses back again.

Rod
Deal Addict
Sep 5, 2010
2352 posts
382 upvotes
Toronto
While oil will continue to slide for a few more weeks or months, you guys are reading too much into this. Sooner or later, it will start going back up. I know things are a bit different this time, but the status quo will not remain. It should go back up to $80 per barrel as we approach the busy driving season (March Break and onward)
My Signature is empty. My signature space is not for sale. You may not contact me to advertise your RFD-related activities here. I repeat, this signature-space is not for sale, unless it is a ......day
Deal Guru
Feb 23, 2008
12939 posts
1862 upvotes
Brampton