Hot Deals

[Oculus] Oculus Quest 2 pre-orders up - $459 64GB, $629 256GB, no tax, free shipping when ordering from Oculus

• Last Updated:
  • Oct 29th, 2020 12:37 pm
Jul 16, 2010
48 posts
27 upvotes
Loomy wrote: Can you imagine if your phone had a camera too? And a microphone OMG what if other people's phones were recording us all the time
Exactly. Google's tracking is a hundred times worse. I looked up what Google had on me and they had search history, web history, location data from the moment I made an account.
Jan 9, 2011
25 posts
18 upvotes
Tri-City Area
MikoWilson wrote: Yeah. VR developer here. I'd HIGHLY advise you not pick up a Quest 2. They are locking down sideloading something harsh; and quite literally tracking everything that you do on that device.
I'm really surprised people are entertaining this device at all.
Would it be possible for you to share your source? This is my first time hearing about this and sounds very worrying if its true
Last edited by Craznn on Sep 22nd, 2020 5:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Dec 25, 2004
810 posts
142 upvotes
MikoWilson wrote: Facebook Oculus tracking is an entirely new level of surveillance. Facebook itself is a platform that you can choose to use. Locking down an entire MEDIUM of content is an entirely different level.

Imagine if the BluRay consortium announced that every BluRay that exists will track everything you do, and say, while watching a BluRay. You'd imagine a lot of push-back against that idea. Like it or not, Facebook owns VR right now, as a medium. We are now allowing them to structurally control it, forcing people onto their platform.
It's a nightmare scenario for digital freedom.
Nightmare scenario... ummm, no it isn’t. Dude you need to chill out. The whole world isn’t a conspiracy. FB for sure is a selfish enterprise, like 99% of business! Digital freedom? Oh brother... ok I’m out.
Jan 9, 2011
25 posts
18 upvotes
Tri-City Area