• Last Updated:
  • Aug 10th, 2020 1:01 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Sep 5, 2010
851 posts
246 upvotes

Office Chairs?

Guys. So I've been working from home for the last 2 months now. And I foresee us staying this way for atleast another two months. My neck and shoulders are about to die cuz I've been using a lawn chair for an office chair. Don't have one...

I am in Toronto, where can I get an office chair that won't take years to come in. Amazon ain't shipping any reasonable chair under 200 till mid may.
17 replies
Mar 29, 2013
168 posts
88 upvotes
Oshawa
Hey - i dont have any recommendations, but im also looking for one and was about to make a post.

I wanted the ikea markus but they dont seem to be delivering to me.
Deal Guru
Oct 24, 2012
11542 posts
2542 upvotes
Montreal
Depends on your tolerance to "used" stuff.
Chairs under $200 are typically garbage in the long term unless you get that famous Haiken mesh chair from Staples while it's on sale at $150.

Otherwise, a good office chair that lasts forever will cost $300+ brand new.

Considering one of my best office chair came from my work office when we renovated the building, I'd go buy another used chair off kijiji from a office supply outlet. Those stores are closed to public right now, but typically will open up if you called ahead.

If you think about it, it's less risky than going out for grocery shopping.
Deal Guru
Jan 9, 2011
10625 posts
12840 upvotes
Vancouver
Offices often throw out chairs once the gas cylinder goes and the seat no longer stays at the set height. This is a $20 part that takes about 10 seconds with a hammer to change out. I rescued a couple from my wife’s office that were to be thrown out. If you know anyone still working in an office ask them if there’s anything kicking around destined for the trash heap.
Nov 22, 2005
101 posts
20 upvotes
Markham
What is a good recommendation for office chair that's around $300?
Deal Addict
Mar 22, 2006
1975 posts
744 upvotes
Scarborough