• Last Updated:
  • Aug 13th, 2019 3:13 pm
[OP]
Nov 16, 2005
464 posts
37 upvotes
Toronto

Old hot tub infiltrated by Raccoons

I moved into my new home last winter and didn't use the hot tub that was already there. I drained the hot tub and turned it off.

Apparently, some raccoons decided to rip open the side panel and have babies inside. I knocked on the other side of the panel and there are quite a bit of insulation falling out.

The hot tub must be 10+ years old; its a "Savannah Spas", and also seems to be discontinued.

I called several place and they don't seem to help redo side panels + clean/re-insulate the tub.

I'm a total hot tub noob here. Is it worth trying to get new side walls and clean the inside? Or should i just go CNE to get a new one (given the old one has gone through two different families and some raccoons)?

Thanks,
Kev
5 replies
Deal Guru
Nov 18, 2005
11391 posts
2855 upvotes
Kingston
My hot tub has a plate on it with the build date (but its a different brand). Might be able to find that to verify its age. If it is 10 years old and the pump is original it might not last too much longer.

If you are handy at doing DIY, you could give it a try to fix it. I'd first try to identify if there is damage to any piping or wires. Just manage how much time and $ you put into it. I suppose you could fill it with water and confirm it still works before doing any repairs.
Deal Addict
Jan 21, 2018
4888 posts
4950 upvotes
Vancouver
Outdoor hot tubs are a pain in the butt to maintain. Animal and insect damage is just one of the ongoing issues. While it's nice to relax in the tub on a cold day, most people don't use them in the summer and drain them in the winter to avoid wasting energy on keeping them hot when the ambient temperature is really cold - so are you going to get enough use out of it to be worth the maintenance costs and work?