Online Brokerage

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 12th, 2011 10:44 am
[OP]
Nov 4, 2011
9 posts
MONTRÉAL

Online Brokerage

Hello, I am interested in trading, so I decided to start slowly. Here is the deal: I am currently a University student and I won't be making a lot of trades (probably less than 20 times per month). I am going to start with $10k of my savings which is an amount I am comfortable losing if it goes wrong. I also want to do it through a tax free savings account.

So here is my question:

Which online brokerage would you guys suggest?? I was thinking of Quest Trade..

They offer low trades commission rates. The only reason why I'm hesitating and not opening an account right away is because I see that they charge a monthly fee for their platforms... I just don't want to end up losing money by paying fees more than I earn from the market.

Or are they all like that and I should be more of an active trader?

Help on this will be very much appreciated!!!
Thanks
20 replies
Dec 24, 2010
13 posts
Toronto
You might have a look at RBC Direct Investing. You can setup a practice account and simulate trading. I wouldn't recommend it for actually executing real trades though---it's really expensive.

I'm curious to know why you'll be trading so frequently. What sort of risk/return expectations do you have for your trading account?

If you're trading 15 times per month, at $5/trade, that's about $900 per year, which is 9% of your $10,000 investment. Are you going to be able to beat the market by 9% every year?
Banned
Feb 17, 2007
3190 posts
202 upvotes
tmiles wrote: If you're trading 15 times per month, at $5/trade, that's about $900 per year, which is 9% of your $10,000 investment. Are you going to be able to beat the market by 9% every year?

he might get lucky and make a killing lol. 9% is nothing in comparison.
Deal Fanatic
Nov 23, 2005
8900 posts
5506 upvotes
ACC-Major wrote: he might get lucky and make a killing lol. 9% is nothing in comparison.